Magazine On-line [fall 2009]
Email this link to a friend

alumni profiles

Alumni win Kentucky Young Lawyer awards

ANgela EDwards headshot
Angela Logan Edwards '91

In recent years, three Transylvania graduates have been named Kentucky’s Outstanding Young Lawyer by the Kentucky Bar Association, an award designed for Kentucky lawyers 40 and younger, or lawyers who have practiced for 10 years or less.

Angela Logan Edwards ’91, a partner with Dinsmore & Shohl, LLP law firm, in Louisville, received the honor this year in recognition of her civic activities, legal accomplishments, and community involvement. Jennifer Moore ’95 was selected in 2005 and Mindy Barfield ’85 in 2002.

“The award is such a wonderful validation that others view my community and professional activities as important and meaningful,” Edwards said. “The work I do in the community and for my profession makes me a better lawyer and a better human being.”

Edwards received her J.D. from the University of Kentucky and practices in the areas of commercial and Employee Retirement Income Security Act litigation. She counsels clients with business disputes and represents employee benefit plans, claims administrators, and employers with benefits issues.

She began her career as a law clerk for the Honorable Jennifer B. Coffman, United States District Court Judge for the Eastern and Western Districts of Kentucky, and has chaired her firm’s business litigation practice group. She also serves on the diversity committee of the Louisville Bar Association.

In 2006, Edwards received a Distinguished Service Award from Transylvania for her outstanding service to the University, and she was elected to the University’s Board of Trustees the same year. A member and former president of the Alumni Executive Board, Edwards has been an active member of the Transylvania Alumni Louisville Chapter. Each year, she assists with the University’s fund-raising efforts and is a former member of the Pioneer Alumni Recruitment Team. The Alumni Association presented her a Certificate of Appreciation in 2001.

Produced by Office of Publications three times a year