Magazine On-line [summer 2009]
Email this link to a friend


Six Inducted Into Pioneer Hall of Fame

Four alumni and a former coach were inducted into the Pioneer Hall of Fame during Alumni Weekend 2009. In addition, Mike McCaslin ’72 was named the first recipient of an inspiration award named in his honor.

Hall of fame inductees

The Hall of Fame recognizes former athletes and coaches who are alumni of the University and others who have made outstanding contributions to the field of athletics.

Kelly C. Carter ’86, a four-year letter winner for the women’s tennis team, was a three-time Kentucky Women’s Intercollegiate Athletic Conference singles champion and a two-time winner of the NAIA District 32 crown. During her Transy career, she posted an overall record of 49-33 in singles play and 41-17 in doubles. She was also a member of the swimming and diving team. She is human resources manager for Tempur-Pedic Inc.

Dale E. Cosby ’74, a four-year letter-winner for the men’s basketball team, was the Pioneers’ career scoring leader with 1,881 points when he graduated, and still ranks fourth on the all-time list. He holds school records for field goals made and attempted. Under head coach Lee Rose ’58, he was a key member of teams that won 20 or more games three times and qualified for the NCAA tournament twice. He was selected to the 1972 All-NCAA Tournament team and was the male Pioneer Athlete of the Year in 1974. He is a licensing coordinator for Marsh Private Client Life Insurance Services in Los Angeles.

Peter G. Fisher ’87 was a four-year letter winner on the men’s swimming and diving team, winning NAIA All-American honors in the 100 and 200 butterfly. He still holds the school record of 1:53.92 in the 200 butterfly. He was named male Pioneer Athlete of the Year in 1985. He coached Wildcat Aquatics at the University of Kentucky for six years. He is an architect with Ross Tarrant Architects in Lexington.

Charles S. Spiegel was Transylvania’s head men’s soccer coach for 17 seasons, from 1980-96, and compiled a record of 197-113-23, making him the winningest coach in the history of the program and one of the most successful in the NAIA at the time of his retirement. During his tenure, Transy won seven NAIA District championships and two Kentucky Intercollegiate Soccer Association crowns, and qualified for post-season play 13 times. He was Kentucky NAIA Coach of the Year 10 times and District Coach of the Year eight times. He is president of Soccer Stars Limited, which conducts camps for coaches and players in central Kentucky.

Janis Alvey Ward ’93 earned letters in swimming and diving for four years and was a three-time NAIA All-American in the 400 individual medley. She was the Pioneer record holder in the 200 butterfly for more than 15 years. She was named female Pioneer Athlete of the Year in 1993. She was honored as the Southeast’s top female athlete in 1998 and has competed in the World Championship Hawaiian Ironman Triathlon and the Louisville Ironman Triathlon. She owns First Steps Provider, an occupational therapy business in Owensboro, Ky.

Mike McCaslinMichael D. McCaslin ’72
was named the first winner of the Michael D. McCaslin Inspiration Award, which will be presented to those who have made extraordinary contributions to the Transylvania athletics program while overcoming unique personal challenges. He was a member of the men’s golf team and served as trainer for the men’s basketball team. Following his graduation from Transylvania, an illness left him unable to walk, but he remained a loyal and active supporter of Transy athletics. In 2008, he attended the NCAA Division III national golf championship to support Transy’s men’s team.

Produced by Office of Publications three times a year