Magazine On-line [spring 2012]
Email this link to a friend


Field hockey wins Earlham tournament

The field hockey team got the year off to a great start by winning the Kookaburra Classic, hosted by fellow Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference member Earlham College. The Pioneers, under head coach Tiffany Underhill, were able to secure just two more wins in a 4-14 season.

Transylvania defeated Saint Vincent College 1-0 in the opener of the Earlham tournament on a goal by sophomore forward Sydney Katz. In the championship game, the Pioneers got a pair of goals by senior back Ruth Kloha to down host Earlham 2-0.

One of Transylvania’s losses was a thrilling 3-2 overtime game at Oberlin College. The Pioneers outshot the Yeowomen 24-14 and held a 2-1 lead late in the second half. Transylvania also played well at Sewanee in a 2-0 loss as the host Tigers made a pair of early goals stand up in a tight defensive struggle.

Junior forward Molly Dean, third leading scorer for the year with eight points (three goals and two assists), was the Most Valuable Player in the Kookaburra Classic. Kloha, Transylvania’s top offensive player with 14 points on seven goals, was named to the Kookaburra All-Tournament team, as were
senior back Laura Hammer, sophomore Caroline Durham, and first-year goalkeeper Sara Aschbacher.

MOlly Dean hockey shot

Junior forward Molly Dean was Most Valuable Player in the Kookaburra Classic.

Produced by Office of Publications three times a year