Magazine On-line [summer 2012]
Email this link to a friend

Distinguished Service Awards

Five alumni received Distinguished Service Awards during Alumni Weekend 2012 for their outstanding service to Transylvania.
Melony Lane  Melony J. Lane ’90 is a longtime member and former president of the Louisville Alumni Chapter board of directors. She helped plan her 10th and 15th class reunions, and chaired her 20th reunion. After a three-year term on the Alumni Executive Board, she served as president-elect and president of the board and chaired the AEB’s admissions committee. She has consistently supported her alma mater through giving to the endowment, the annual fund, the Ron Whitson Scholarship, and the Sherri Greer Tri-Delta Scholarship. She is a member of the Transylvania Women’s Club.
William McDonald  William H. McDonald ’67 is a former member of the Alumni Executive Board and served on committees for his 2007 and 2012 class reunions. His band, The Cane Ridge Revival, has provided entertainment at several reunions and alumni functions. He has been a leader for Transy and TEAM (Totally Excited About Ministry), a program that encouraged high school students to enter the ministry. He served on Transylvania’s Church Relations Advisory Board from 2000-08. A member of Phi Kappa Tau Fraternity, he has been a member and president of the board of governors of Transylvania’s Theta Chapter.
Mary Lee Chance Smith  Mary Lee Chance Smith ’92 is a former president of the Student Alumni Association and former Senior Challenge chair. She became class agent in 1992 and has served on every five-year reunion committee, including as gift chair in 2002 and reunion chair in 2007. She is a former member of the Alumni Executive Board and a member and officer of the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Alumni Chapter’s board of directors. She assisted music professor Gary Anderson in coordinating a Transylvania Choir performance at her church. She is an active alumna in Chi Omega, serving as chapter visitor, chapter coordinator at the executive headquarters, State Day speaker, and Kentucky state recruitment chair, and is a member of the Greater Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Alumnae Association.
Palmer Vance  Palmer Gene Vance ’87 is a member and former president of the Bluegrass Alumni Chapter board of directors. A former member of the Greek Alumni Council, he served as reunion gift chair in 2002 and 2007. He has supported the annual fund as a member of the Crimson Circle giving club and has given to capital and endowment campaigns as well as the Paul Fuller Scholarship. For the past several years he has been instrumental in securing Stoll Keenon Ogden’s sponsorship of the annual Bluegrass Alumni Chapter Fourth of July picnic. He served as district governor and on the Grand Council for his fraternity, Delta Sigma Phi, while also assisting Transylvania’s Beta Mu chapter. He received the national Mr. Delta Sig Award in 2011. He has served as Omicron Delta Kappa’s national counsel and was elected president of the ODK Foundation in 2010.
Billy Van Pelt  Billy G. Van Pelt II ’87 has served on his last two reunion committees and has been class agent and a member and former president of the Bluegrass Alumni Chapter. He is a former member of the Alumni Executive Board. He has been a volunteer alumni phonathon caller for years, has participated in career networking events on campus, and has hosted alumni events in his home. A member of the James Morrison Society and the President’s Circle giving club, he has been a loyal financial supporter while also helping identify community donors.

Produced by Office of Publications three times a year