A-Z Index  |  Site Map  

News & Events

News Releases

Twenty receive Transylvania University’s prestigious William T. Young Scholarship

LEXINGTON, Ky.—Twenty students have been awarded Transylvania University's William T. Young Scholarship. Student applicants participate in a highly competitive process based on grades and test scores, extracurricular activities, a written essay and a personal interview. Each scholarship covers tuition and the general fee for four years.

The 2010 William T. Young Scholars are academically very strong, with an average ACT of 32, SAT of 1400 and high school GPA of 3.96. Three are National Merit Finalists, seven are ranked first in their class and 13 are alumni of the Kentucky Governor’s Scholar Program. This year’s recipients are also involved in the arts, particularly music and theater, and over half participate in athletics at their high schools.

The program is named in honor of the late William T. Young, former chairman of Transylvania’s board of trustees and a Lexington civic leader and businessman.

The new scholars are:

Cody Barnett  (Viper, Ky., Hazard High School)
Carrie-Anne Burt  (Nicholasville, Ky., Lexington Catholic High School)
Taylor Crawley  (Nortonville, Ky., Hopkins County Central High School)
Hamilton Del Grosso  (Louisville, Ballard High School)
Brandon Fain  (Lawrenceburg, Franklin County High School)
Brianna Hill  (Lexington, Paul Laurence Dunbar High School)
Hannah Johnson  (Lexington, Lafayette High School)
Kayarash Karimian  (Crestview Hills, Ky., Dixie Heights High School)
Maria Kerr  (Somerset, Somerset High School)
Kali Mattingly  (Rush, Ky., Boyd County High School)
Kelsey Meece  (Somerset, Somerset High School)
Allison Merritt  (Kenova, WVa., Spring Valley High School)
Emily Novak  (Naperville, Ill., Naperville North High School)
Shelly Perkins  (Frankfort, Franklin County High School)
Kimberly Shain  (Coxs Creek, Ky., Nelson County High School)
Zoe Snider  (Lexington, Bryan Station High School)
Maria Starck  (Louisville, Dupont Manual High School)
Victoria Sullivan  (Vanceburg, Ky., Lewis County High School)
Raisa Tikhtman  (Lexington, Lafayette High School)
Caroline Wilson  (Brandenburg, Ky., Meade County High School)

Transylvania, founded in 1780, is the nation’s sixteenth oldest institution of higher learning and is consistently ranked in national publications as one of the top liberal arts colleges in the country.


Back to News Releases page

© 2003-2016 Transylvania University. All rights reserved.

Transylvania University admits students regardless of age, race, color, ethnicity, religion, gender, sexual orientation, disability, veteran status, national origin, or any other classification protected by federal or state law or local ordinance.Transylvania University is committed to ensuring that the institution is free of harassment and discrimination on the basis of race, color, citizenship status, sex, age, disability, pregnancy, creed, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, marital status, national or ethnic origin, religion or religious belief or veteran's status, or any other category protected by applicable state or federal law or local ordinance. Click here to read our full non-discrimination policy. Title IX information